PARTICULAE LUCIS for string quartet

  • year: 2020
  • lenght: 20′
  • instrumentation: string quartet (2 vn, vla, vc)
  • premiere: 29.11.2020, Kraków, Sala Kameralna im. M. Stachowskiego Akademii Muzycznej w Krakowie / performed by Messages Quartet – Oriana Masternak, Małgorzata Wasiucionek (vn), Maria Shetty (vla), Beata Urbanek-Kalinowska (vc)
  • Project co-financed by the Ministry of Culture National Heritage and Sport of the Republic of Poland within the programme “Composing Commissions” implemented by the National Institute of Music and Dance.
  • Particulae lucis sets the listener somewhere in the moment of a very slow movement which happens between a few situations: coloristic sensations of a broken stained glass, passing through it, a view of a starry night sky, but visualized through the timelapse technique. Everything occurs at an extremely slow tempo, at a steady pace. The work consists of a few parts which are smoothly interwined with each other. One of the most important elements are colour and rhytmical structures which interact with each other. The composition is dedicated to Messages Quartet.

watercolor painting – Andrzej Karałow